Good night Ms Antisocial!

Alone does not necessarily mean in solitude: we are not just the lone figure on the far shore. This is a populous world, and we are most often alone in a crowd. It is a state less of body than mind. The word alone should not, for us, ring cold and hollow, but hot. Pulsing with potentiality. Alone as in distinct. Alone as in, Alone in his field. As in, Stand alone. As in, like it or not, Leave me alone. This word wants rescuing, this word wants pride. This word wants to be washed and shined. –Anonymous

Its not me trying to be antisocial. Before coming over to Monash University, I was one. I still am at times. As much as I love having people around me and immersing in all the fun times, I am still as much a loner as I used to be =) And this is nothing negative.

The mind is sharper and keener in seclusion and uninterrupted solitude. Originality thrives in seclusion free of outside influences beating upon us to cripple the creative mind. Be alone—that is the secret of invention: be alone, that is when ideas are born. –Nikola Tesla, quoted in Thomas P. Hughes’s American Genesis: A Century of Invention and Technological Enthusiasm

I love spending time alone sometimes because it let me do some self reflection or immerse myself in the me-time. And there is no point to do something you do not enjoy, just to please others. Friends live not to see you please them, but to let you be happy alongside with them, albeit not sharing the same sentiments =D

Loners, if you catch them, are well worth the trouble. Not dulled by excess human contact, nor blasé or focused on your crotch while jabbering about themselves, loners are curious, vigilant, full of surprises. They do not cling. Separate wherever they go, awake or asleep, they shimmer with the iridescence of hidden things seldom seen. –Anonymous

Photo-of-Shooting-Stars-300x300Just being myself xP

The one who sometimes enjoy the lone times =D

Leave a Reply

